Miami Horror, which began as a solo project by producer Benjamin Plant, extract ethereal melodies from down-tempo nocturnal soundscapes punctuated by a funky strut, echoes of guitars, glossy electronics, and luminous pop. Available now exclusively on vinyl, with a digital release coming in mid 2021, Miami Horror will release a special 10th anniversary edition of their seminal debut, the ARIA-nominated album Illumination.

Illumination 10th Anniversary Edition includes twelve remixes, four B-sides, and a lush 25-minute trip through the entire record entitled “Lucid Stream.”

“I started working on ‘Illumination’ at around 19-years-old and finished it by 24,” Plant explains. “You’re going through the crossover period of being a teenager to an adult. You still have a lot of life ahead of you, but you see the world innocently. The album was made during this crossover in my life where I got to see something come to fruition. I was in the imaginative period where you don’t have the burdens of adulthood yet. The music focuses on the wonder of the adventure itself. I had started to rekindle that feeling before the re-release. Everything was coming full circle, and it felt like the perfect moment to reintroduce this.”

After a whirlwind decade, they’ve certainly earned a moment to reflect…

During 2020, the idea to re-up illumination first germinated. It began with a large demand for the vinyl to be restocked, but it morphed into something bigger. “It was a chance for us to come back and celebrate the album in a way we didn’t get to at the time it was released because everything was so crazy,” he admits.  “We never really got the chance to enjoy it. It’s a bit sentimental. We’re celebrating the atmosphere of
what existed in music before streaming and social media. We got back to purely creating.”

In the end, Miami Horror both rediscover the wonder of Illumination and expand it. “When I started this band and now, I always liked to create a place where people could escape from the world,” he leaves off.  “Everything is very heavy at the moment in society and culturally. This is a safe place. I’d like to induce a sense of imagination in the music. We’re allowing you to get away from life for a minute and the
standards of normal pop music.”

To celebrate the release, Miami Horror will make a 3-piece vinyl set available for fans. 



‘Illumination 10th Anniversary Edition’ Track List:
01. Infinite Canyons
02. I Look to You (feat. Kimbra)
03. Holidays (feat. Alan Palomo)
04. Summersun
05. Sometimes
06. Moon Theory
07. Echoplex (feat. MAI)
08. Imagination
09. Grand Illusion
10. Soft Light (feat. Alan Palomo)
11. Illuminated
12. Ultraviolet (feat. Alan Palomo)
13. I Look to You (feat. Kimbra) [Franc Moody Remix]
14. I Look to You (feat. Kimbra) [Tim Fuchs Remix]
15. I Look to You (feat. Kimbra) [Wildlife Remix]
16. I Look to You (feat. Kimbra) [Jad & The Remix]
17. Moon Theory (Punks Jump Up Remix)
18. Moon Theory (Yacht Remix)
19. Sometimes (Shazam Remix)
20. Sometimes (Gloves Remix)
21. Sometimes (Hook N Sling Remix)
22. Holidays (feat. Alan Palomo) [Sam Sparro & Jessie Rogg Remix]
23. Holidays (feat. Alan Palomo) [Miami Horror & Cassian Remix]
24. Holidays (feat. Alan Palomo) [Lenno & Jesse Oliver Remix]
25. Emagination (B-Side)
26. Love Light (B-Side)
27. Under the Milky Way
28. Versalles (B-side)
29. Lucid Stream

Sorry, there are no products in this collection